

DRAFT MINUTES CUPERTINO CITY COUNCIL Monday, August 8, 2022

SPECIAL MEETING

At 5:30 p.m., Mayor Darcy Paul called the Special City Council Meeting to order in the Cupertino Community Hall Council Chamber, 10350 Torre Avenue.

ROLL CALL

Present: Mayor Darcy Paul, Vice Mayor Liang Chao, and Councilmembers Kitty Moore, Hung Wei and Jon Robert Willey. Absent: None.

POSTPONEMENTS AND ORDERS OF THE DAY – None

CONSENT CALENDAR

Willey moved and Moore seconded to approve the items on the Consent Calendar as presented. Ayes: Paul, Chao, Moore, Wei, and Willey. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None.

- <u>Subject</u>: Consider late submittal of five Teen Commission application letters of recommendation
 <u>Recommended Action</u>: Waive late submittal of five Teen Commission application letters of recommendation and direct staff to accept the applications
- 2. <u>Subject</u>: Consider a Resolution approving four appointments in the 2022-2024 term cycle and five appointments in the 2023-2025 term cycle for the Cupertino Teen Commission <u>Recommended Action</u>: Adopt Resolution No. 22-095 approving four appointments in the 2022-2024 term cycle and five appointments in the 2023-2025 term cycle for the Cupertino Teen Commission

COMMISSION INTERVIEWS

3. <u>Subject</u>: Teen Commission Interviews <u>Recommended Action</u>: Conduct Teen Commission interviews and make appointments for four vacancies and at least two alternates

Council conducted interviews.

Council recessed from 6:53 p.m. to 7:04 p.m.

Council continued conducting interviews.

Council recessed from 8:45 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Councilmembers asked questions and made comments.

Council voted for their top seven candidates.

Rayna Shah (unanimous) Saanj Rao (Moore, Willey) Shivika Biswari (Chao) Naomi Lyn (Chao) Joyce Cheung (Paul, Chao, Moore, Willey) Pranav Gupta (Paul, Moore, Wei, Willey) Kush Kumar (Wei) Anushree Misra (Moore, Wei, Willey) Shaona Das (Wei) Dana Yang (Paul, Wei) Sudisha Kumar (Paul, Chao, Moore) Rohin Garg (Willey) Clarabelle Wang (Willey) Peter Chen (Chao) Alissa Cheong (Moore) Iniyaa Suresh (Paul) Namheon Lee (Chao, Wei) Rahul Sankar (Paul)

Council consented to appoint Rayna Shah, Joyce Cheung and Pranav Gupta as primary members to the Teen Commission for 2022-2024 terms.

Council voted for their top candidates to appoint the fourth primary member.

Saanj Rao (Moore) Anushree Misra (Wei, Willey) Sudisha Kumar (Paul, Chao)

There was no majority consensus and Council did not select an appointment.

Council conducted another vote for their top candidate to appoint the fourth primary member.

Anushree Misra (Moore, Wei) Sudisha Kumar (Paul, Chao, Willey)

Council consented to appoint Sudisha Kumar as primary member to the Teen Commission for the 2022-2024 term.

Final motion:

Moore moved and Chao seconded to appoint Rayna Shah, Joyce Cheung, Pranav Gupta and Sudisha Kumar as primary members to two-year terms ending August 31, 2024, and Anushree Misra as 1st Alternate and Saanj Rao as 2nd Alternate. The motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

At 9:57 p.m., Mayor Paul adjourned the Special City Council Meeting.

Lauren Sapudar, Deputy City Clerk