

APPROVED MINUTES CUPERTINO CITY COUNCIL

Tuesday, January 31, 2023

SPECIAL MEETING

At 5:31 p.m., Mayor Hung Wei called the Special City Council Meeting to order in the Cupertino Community Hall Council Chamber, 10350 Torre Avenue.

ROLL CALL

Present: Mayor Hung Wei, Vice Mayor Sheila Mohan, and Councilmembers Liang Chao, J.R. Fruen and Kitty Moore. Absent: none.

COMMISSION INTERVIEWS

1. <u>Subject</u>: Interview applicants for commission terms expiring on the Library Commission, Planning Commission, and Parks and Recreation Commission <u>Recommended Action</u>: Conduct interviews and make appointments to the Library Commission, Planning Commission, and Parks and Recreation Commission; and make appointments for any alternates

Written Communications for this item included an amended Attachment A – Interview Schedule and emails to Council.

Mayor Wei opened public comment period and, seeing no one, closed the public comment period.

Councilmembers asked questions and made comments.

Deputy City Clerk Lauren Sapudar clarified that one of the three vacancies on the Arts and Culture Commission should be filled as a partial term, to fill an unexpected vacancy that occurred when a commissioner was terminated.

Council interviewed applicants for commission terms expiring on the Library Commission, Planning Commission, and Parks and Recreation Commission.

Councilmembers discussed the process for ranking candidates.

Council made appointments for the Housing Commission, Arts and Culture Commission, Technology, Information, and Communications Commission, Library Commission, Planning Commission, Bicycle Pedestrian Commission, and Parks and Recreation Commission.

Housing Commission:

Council reappointed Connie Cunningham to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Wei, Mohan, Fruen, Moore); and appointed Tejesh Mistry as 1st Alternate (Wei, Mohan, Fruen, Moore).

Arts and Culture Commission:

Council appointed Kiran Varshneya Rohra to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Unanimous); and appointed David Wang to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Unanimous); and appointed Dana Ford to a partial term ending January 30, 2025 (Unanimous); and appointed Rani Agrawal as 1st Alternate (Unanimous).

Technology, Information, and Communications Commission (TICC):

Council appointed Emma Shearin to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Wei, Mohan, Fruen); and reappointed Mukesh Garg to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Wei, Mohan, Fruen, Moore); and reappointed Prabir Mohanty to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Mohan, Chao, Moore).

Council discussed making appointments for 1st and 2nd Alternate seats.

Chao moved and Moore seconded to appoint Naidu Bollineni as 1st Alternate and Sreekanth (Sree) Bhaskar as 2nd Alternate to the Technology, Information, and Communications Commission. Chao's motion failed with Chao and Moore voting yes.

Fruen moved and Mohan seconded to appoint Sreekanth (Sree) Bhaskar as 1st Alternate and Naidu Bollineni as 2nd Alternate to the Technology, Information, and Communications Commission. Fruen's motion carried with Moore voting no.

Library Commission:

Council appointed Janki Chokshi to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Unanimous); and reappointed Qin Pan to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Unanimous); and there were no alternate seat appointments.

Planning Commission:

Council appointed David Fung to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Wei, Mohan, Fruen); and appointed Seema Lindskog to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Wei, Mohan, Fruen).

Council discussed appointing for 1st and 2nd Alternate seats.

Fruen moved and Wei seconded to appoint to Tejesh Mistry as 1st Alternate and Geoff Paulsen as 2nd Alternate to the Planning Commission. The motion carried unanimously.

Bicycle Pedestrian Commission:

Council appointed John Zhao to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Wei, Mohan, Fruen); and appointed Herve Marcy to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Wei, Fruen, Moore).

Council conducted another voting round to fill the third primary member seat.

Wei moved and Fruen seconded to appoint Joel Wolf as the third primary member to the Bicycle Pedestrian Commission.

Moore moved and Chao seconded a substitute motion to appoint Jack Carter as the third primary member to the Bicycle Pedestrian Commission. Moore's substitute motion failed with Chao and Moore voting yes.

Fruen's main motion carried with Chao and Moore voting no.

Council discussed appointing for 1st and 2nd Alternate seats.

Chao moved and Wei seconded to appoint Jack Carter as 1st Alternate and Sreekanth (Sree) Bhaskar as 2nd Alternate to the Bicycle Pedestrian Commission. Chao's motion carried unanimously.

Parks and Recreation Commission:

Council appointed Jennifer Shearin to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Wei, Mohan, Fruen); and appointed Hemant Buch to a full term ending January 30, 2027 (Wei, Mohan, Fruen); and appointed Claudio Bono as 1st Alternate (Wei, Mohan, Fruen).

Council discussed appointing for a 2nd Alternate seat.

Fruen moved and Wei seconded to appoint Joseph (Dan) Marshall as 2nd Alternate to the Parks and Recreation Commission.

Moore moved and Chao seconded a substitute motion to appoint Xiangchen (Minna) Xu as 2nd Alternate to the Parks and Recreation Commission. Moore's substitute motion failed with Chao and Moore voting yes.

Fruen's main motion carried with Chao and Moore voting no.

Final Appointments Summary:

Housing Commission

• Connie Cunningham, reappointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027

Alternate

Tejesh Mistry

Bicycle Pedestrian Commission

- Herve Marcy, appointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027
- Joel Wolf, appointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027
- John Zhao, appointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027

Alternates

- 1st Alternate: Jack Carter
- 2nd Alternate: Sreekanth (Sree) Bhaskar

Arts and Culture Commission

- Kiran Varshneya Rohra, appointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027
- David Wang, appointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027
- Dana Ford, appointed to a partial term ending January 30, 2025

Alternate:

Rani Agrawal

Technology, Information, and Communications Commission (TICC)

- Emma Shearin, appointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027
- Mukesh Garg, reappointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027
- Prabir Mohanty, reappointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027

<u>Alternates</u>

- 1st Alternate: Sreekanth (Sree) Bhaskar
- 2nd Alternate: Naidu Bollineni

Library Commission

- Janki Chokshi, appointed to full term ending January 30, 2027
- Qin Pan, reappointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027

<u>Alternates</u>

• No Alternates

Planning Commission

- David Fung, appointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027
- Seema Lindskog, appointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027

Alternates

1st Alternate: Tejesh Mistry
 2nd Alternate: Geoff Paulsen

Parks and Recreation Commission

- Hemant Buch, appointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027
- Jennifer Shearin, appointed to a full term ending January 30, 2027

Alternate

- 1st Alternate: Claudio Bono
- 2nd Alternate: Joseph (Dan) Marshall

ADJOURNMENT

At 11:02 p.m., Mayor Wei adjourned the Special City Council Meeting.

Lauren Sapudar, Deputy City Clerk

Lauren Sapudan