

DRAFT MINUTES CUPERTINO CITY COUNCIL Monday, January 25, 2021

At 6:00 p.m. Mayor Darcy Paul called the Special City Council meeting to order. This was a teleconference meeting with no physical location.

ROLL CALL

Present: Mayor Darcy Paul, Vice Mayor Liang Chao, and Councilmembers Kitty Moore, Hung Wei, and Jon Robert Willey. Absent: None. All Councilmembers teleconferenced for the meeting.

COMMISSION INTERVIEWS

 <u>Subject</u>: Interview applicants for commission terms expiring on the Planning Commission, Library Commission, and Fine Arts Commission. <u>Recommended Action</u>: Conduct interviews and make appointments to the Planning Commission, Library Commission, and Fine Arts Commission; and select alternates

Written communications for this item included emails to Council.

Mayor Paul opened the public comment period and, seeing no speakers, closed the public comment period.

Council conducted the interviews and made the following appointments to the Planning Commission, Library Commission, and Fine Arts Commission, and alternates.

Planning Commission Voting Round 1 for primary seats:

Vote for 3 full terms ending 1/30/25 and any alternates

- 1 Venkatesan Ranganathan
- 2 Jack Carter
- 3 Sundar Narayanan
- 4 Rajiv Puranik
- 5 Kiet Nguyen
- 6 Timothy Gorsulowsky

- 7 Neha Sahai
- 8 Eric Crouch
- 9 R Wang was reappointed to full term ending 1/30/25 (Moore, Willey, Chao, Paul)
- 10 Muni Madhdhipatla was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25 (and will vacate current seat on Bicycle Pedestrian Commission) (Moore, Chao, Paul)
- 11 Steven Scharf was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25 (Moore, Willey, Chao, Paul)
- 12 Deepa Mahendraker (Willey)
- 13 Dinelle Rudd (Wei)
- 14 Ravi Kumar
- 15 Neil Park-McClintick (Wei)
- 16 Frances Hu
- 17 Kriti Garg (Wei)

Planning Commission Voting Round 2 for alternate seat:

- Jack Carter (Moore, Paul)
- Deepa Mahendraker (Willey, Chao)
- Kriti Garg (Wei)

This round did not result in an appointment for alternate seat.

Planning Commission Voting Round 3 for alternate seat run off:

- Jack Carter (Moore, Paul)
- Deepa Mahendraker was appointed as alternate (Wei, Willey, Chao)

Library Commission Voting Round 1 for primary seats:

Vote for 3 full terms ending 1/30/25 and any alternates

- 1 Archana Panda was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25 (Wei, Willey, Paul)
- 2 Esha Rao (Moore)
- 3 Priscilla Grille
- 4 Vidya Murthy
- 5 Vijaya Chavva
- 6 Govind Tatachari was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25 (and declined Library Commission appointment and accepted Housing Commission appointment of 1/26/2021) (Moore, Willey, Paul)
- 7 Latha Chandrashekhar
- 8 Himani Singh (Willey)
- 9 Seema Swamy
- 10 Sheela Sreekanth (Moore, Chao)
- 11 Sreekanth Bhaskar

12 Liyan Zhao was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25 (Wei, Chao, Paul)

- 13 Kriti Garg (Wei, Chao)
- 14 Xiuqing (Winona) Chen

Library Commission Voting Round 2 for alternate seat run off:

- Sheela Sreekanth was appointed as alternate (and will fill appointment declined by Tatachari) (Moore, Willey, Chao, Paul)
- Kriti Garg (Wei)

Fine Arts Commission Voting Round 1 for primary seats:

Vote for 2 full terms ending 1/30/25 and any alternates

- 1 Madhusudan Tare was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25 (Moore, Willey, Chao, Paul)
- 2 Archana Panda
- 3 Esha Rao was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25 (Moore, Wei, Willey, Paul)
- 4 Neha Sahai
- 5 Sonia Dhami
- 6 Kalpana Aroda (Wei, Chao)

Willey moved and Paul seconded to appoint Kalpana Aroda as the alternate. The motion carried unanimously.

Summary:

Planning Commission Appointments

R Wang was reappointed to full term ending 1/30/25

Steven Scharf was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25

Muni Madhdhipatla was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25 (and will vacate current seat on Bicycle Pedestrian Commission)

<u>Alternate</u>

Deepa Mahendraker was appointed as alternate

Library Commission Appointments

Archanda Panda was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25

Govind Tatachari was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25 (and declined Library Commission appointment and accepted Housing Commission appointment of 1/26/2021) Liyan Zhao was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25

<u>Alternate</u>

Sheela Sreekanth was appointed as alternate (and will fill appointment declined by Tatachari)

<u>Fine Arts Commission Appointments</u> Madhusudan Tare was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25 Esha Rao was appointed to a full term ending 1/30/25 <u>Alternate</u> Kalpana Aroda was appointed as alternate

ADJOURNMENT

At 10:30 p.m., Mayor Paul adjourned to the Special Meeting of Tuesday, January 26.

Kirsten Squarcia, City Clerk