

#### COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT

CITY HALL

10300 TORRE AVENUE • CUPERTINO, CA 95014-3255 (408) 777-3308 • FAX (408) 777-3333

# PLANNING COMMISSION STAFF REPORT

Agenda Date: February 14, 2017

# **SUBJECT**

Appointment of a Chair, Vice Chair and Committee representatives

## RECOMMENDATION

Elect a Chair and Vice Chair

Recommend an Environmental Review Committee (ERC) representative

Appoint a Housing Commission representative

Appoint a Design Review Committee (DRC) member and an alternate

Appoint an Economic Development Committee representative

Discuss the Hearing Schedule for 2017

### **BACKGROUND**

Terms

The terms of office of the Chair, Vice Chair and Design Review Committee members are for one year and end in January of each year.

## Environmental Review Committee

Typically, the City Council reviews the staff members of ERC annually. Historically, the Planning Commission recommends its Chair to serve on the Environmental Review Committee. The Planning Commission's recommended ERC member will be reviewed and formally appointed by the City Council.

# Housing Commission

The Planning Commission sends a representative to the Housing Commission to provide better communication between the Commissions. The Planning Commissioner is not a voting member and there is no term of office. New appointments occur from time-to-time; the same representative may be re-appointed or a new representative may be selected. Usually the selection is determined by the level of interest of a particular Planning Commissioner.

# Design Review Committee

The Municipal Code provides that the Vice Chair of the Planning Commission is the Chair of the Design Review Committee, so only one member and an alternate need to be appointed.

# Economic Development Committee

Each year, the Planning Commission sends a representative to the Economic Development Committee to help enhance awareness and communication with the business community. The Economic Development Committee is an ad hoc committee. There are no term limits, the same representative may be re-appointed or a new representative may be selected.

#### **DISCUSSION**

<u>Chair and Vice Chair</u>: The selection of the Chair typically is the Vice Chair, who was Margaret Gong (appointed in February 2013, first term ended 2017). The selection of the new Vice Chair typically is based on seniority and rotation. The following Commissioners are listed below based on seniority and rotation:

- 1. Don Sun re-appointed January 2015 (second term ends 2019)
- 2. Geoff Paulsen –appointed January 2015 (first term ends 2019)
- 3. Alan Takahashi re-appointed in January 2017 (second term ends 2021)
- 4. David Fung appointed January 2017 (first term ends January 2021)
- 5. Jerry Liu appointed January 2017 (first term ends January 2021)

Prepared by: Beth Ebben, Administrative Assistant

Approved by: Benjamin Fu, Assistant Director of Community Development

## **Attachments:**

- 1 Planning Commission Committee Appointees
- 2 Tentative 2017 Planning Commission Hearing Calendar