

# DRAFT MINUTES CUPERTINO PLANNING COMMISSION

Tuesday, May 13, 2025

At 6:45 p.m. Chair Santosh Rao called the Regular Planning Commission meeting to order and led the Pledge of Allegiance in the Cupertino Community Hall Council Chamber, 10350 Torre Avenue and via teleconference.

#### **ROLL CALL**

Present: Chair Santosh Rao, Vice Chair Tracy Kosolcharoen, and Commissioners David Fung, Steven Scharf and Seema Lindskog. Absent: None.

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. <u>Subject</u>: Approval of the April 22, 2025 Planning Commission Minutes <u>Recommended Action</u>: Approve the April 22, 2025 Planning Commission Minutes

Chair Rao opened the floor for Commissioner comments.

MOTION: Scharf moved and Lindskog seconded to approve the April 22, 2025 Planning Commission Minutes. The motion passed with the following vote: Ayes: Rao, Kosolcharoen, Fung, Scharf, Lindskog. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None.

#### **POSTPONEMENTS** – None

## **ORAL COMMUNICATIONS**

No members of the public spoke.

#### **CONSENT CALENDAR-** None

#### STUDY SESSION

2. <u>Subject:</u> Multifamily and Residential Mixed-Use Objective Design Standards <u>Recommended Action:</u> That the Planning Commission provide feedback and recommendations regarding objective design standards for new multifamily and residential mixed-use development.

Planning Manger Ghosh introduced the City's Consultant, Greg Goodfellow from Placeworks, who gave a presentation.

Planning Commission May 13, 2025

Commissioners asked questions toward the end of the presentation, which staff and the Consultant responded to.

The Consultant continued the presentation.

Commissioners continued to make comments and asked questions, which staff and the presenter responded to.

Chair Rao opened the public comment period and the following people spoke during public comment:

• Jennifer Griffin

Chair Rao closed the public comment period.

The presentation continued, and Commissioners continued their discussion. The Chair made a request to have additional meetings on this item. Staff said they would consider options available in light of budgetary limitations.

#### **PUBLIC HEARINGS** – None

#### **NEW BUSINESS -**

3. <u>Subject:</u> Stevens Creek Boulevard Corridor Vision Study
<u>Recommended Action:</u> Recommend that the City Council accept the Stevens Creek
Boulevard Vision Study.

Planning Manager Ghosh introduced Senior Transportation Planner Schroeder, who gave a presentation, along with Public Words Director Mosley, and Transportation Manager Stillman.

Chair Rao opened the floor to Commissioner questions.

Commissioners asked questions, which the presenters responded to.

Chair Rao opened the public comment period and the following people spoke:

- Jennifer Griffin
- Harry Neil
- Emily Poon
- Betsy Maze
- Danny Hapton
- Tally Raim
- Sandra Sava

Planning Commission May 13, 2025

Chair Rao closed the public comment period.

The Commissioners made comments and asked questions which staff and the presenters responded to.

Chair Rao opened the floor to Commissioner discussion.

Commissioners made comments, asked questions and discussed common ground for purposes of drafting a motion for Council.

MOTION: Rao moved and Fung seconded to recommend the City Council to accept the Stevens Creek Boulevard Corridor Vision Study and Steering Committee Action and reaffirm the Bicycle Pedestrian Commission recommendation, with the following additional recommendations:

- Prioritize investments in identity and maintenance
- Prioritize investments in safety, with a focus on, but not limited to, technology and innovation such as adaptive traffic signalization and active pedestrian detection
- Prioritize cost by limiting corridor up to Westport, and limiting study of transit alternatives to grade-separated transit
- Invest in off-corridor bicycle and pedestrian networks such as, but not limited to, the Lawrence Mitty Trail and Tamien Innu Trail

FRIENDLY AMMENDMENT: Scharf made a friendly amendment to change the language substituting Westport with Bubb Road (The Chair and Fung accepted the friendly amendment).

The motion passed with the following vote. Ayes: Rao, Kosolcharoen, Fung, Scharf, Lindskog. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None.

# STAFF AND COMMISSION REPORTS - None

### **FUTURE AGENDA SETTING - None**

# **ADJOURNMENT**

At 10:13 p.m. Chair Rao adjourned the Regular Planning Commission Mee	ting.
---	-------

Minutes prepared by:

Lindsay Nelson, Administrative Assistant