

OFFICE OF COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

CITY HALL 10300 TORRE AVENUE • CUPERTINO, CA 95014-3255 (408) 777-3308 • FAX (408) 777-3333 • <u>planning@cupertino.org</u>

## PLANNING COMMISSION STAFF REPORT Meeting Date: <u>February 11, 2025</u>

<u>Subject</u> Election of Planning Commission Chair and Vice Chair.

Recommended Action

Elect Planning Commission Chair and Vice Chair.

Discussion

<u>Chair and Vice Chair</u>: The Chair and Vice Chair are elected annually among the Commission members (CMC Section 2.32.040<sup>1</sup>). The term for Chair and Vice Chair is for one year. While any Commissioner can be nominated and elected as the Chair, the Commissioners usually elects the sitting Vice Chair to succeed the outgoing Chair. The selection for Vice Chair has historically been based on seniority with rotation among Commissioners. The current Commissioners are listed below in order of term appointment and rotation:

Name	Term	Date of Appointment	Date Term Ending
Steven Scharf	Second	January 2025	January 2029
David Fung	First	January 2023	January 2027
Seema Lindskog	First	January 2023	January 2027
Tracy Kosolcharoen	First	January 2025	January 2029
Santosh Rao	First	January 2025	January 2029

<u>Planning Commission Committee Appointments</u>: The Planning Commission usually selects a Commissioner to attend Housing Commission meetings in order to provide a brief summary of Housing Commission matters during the "Commission Reports" portion of the Planning Commission Agenda to keep the Commission informed. A Planning Commissioner appointee who attends a Housing Commission meeting is not a voting member and there is no associated term of office. Usually, the selection to be the Housing Commission attendee is determined by the level of interest of a particular Planning Commissioner. However, a selection is not required, and any Commissioner may attend a Housing Commission meeting since they are public meetings. Commissioner Lindskog was selected to be the Housing Commission representative for the past year.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> <sup>1</sup> <u>CMC Section 2.32.040</u>: The commission shall elect its Chairperson and Vice- Chairperson from among its members. The terms of the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson shall be for one year.

<u>The Mayor's Meeting with Commissioners:</u> Among other meetings of note and as information, the Mayor's meeting is a bi-monthly meeting to report on Planning Commission matters. The meeting format alternates between in-person and remote attendance. Information is shared from the City Manager's Office on these meetings. The meetings must be attended by the Chair. If the Chair is unavailable, the Vice-Chair may attend on behalf of the Chair. If neither is available, an alternate commissioner may be chosen to attend. This can be done on an as-needed basis and no action is required at this time.

Attachments:

1. Planning Commission 2024 meeting schedule

<sup>&</sup>lt;u>Prepared by</u>: Piu Ghosh, Planning Manager <u>Reviewed by</u>: Michael Woo, Senior Assistant City Attorney <u>Approved for Submission by</u>: Luke Connolly, Assistant Director of Community Development